7.8 C
New York
Saturday, December 2, 2023

Buy now

“The Glory” and Song Hye Kyo both missed out on the top honors at the prestigious Busan International Film Festival (BIFF) awards.

On October 8th, the Busan International Film Festival held its 2023 Asian Content Awards and Global Over-The-Top (OTT) Awards ceremony. The event celebrated and recognized outstanding works in the Asian entertainment industry and the global online streaming space. This year, the spotlight was firmly on outstanding works and individuals from South Korea.

Disney+’s “Moving” claimed the Best Creative Work award In the Best Creative Work category, three South Korean films were nominated, but Disney+’s “Moving” emerged as the winner. The film also secured several other major awards, including Best Visual Effects, Best Screenplay (Kang Full), Best New Male Actor (Lee Jung Ha), Best New Female Actor (Go Yoon Jung), and Best Lead Actor (Ryu Seung Yong). “Moving” took home a total of 6 awards, making it the frontrunner among the contenders.

“The Glory” received the sole award in the Best Supporting Actress category, with Lim Ji Yeon being honored for her performance. Meanwhile, Song Hye Kyo and screenwriter Kim Eun Sook, despite being nominated, did not secure any awards.

“Weak Hero Class 1” won the award for Best Original OTT content, and director Kim Jong Hak was recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Kim Jong Hak is known for directing popular TV series such as “Sandglass” (1995) and “The Legend” (2007).

The 2023 Asian Content Awards and Global OTT Awards ceremony have become a significant event that honors excellence in the entertainment and online streaming industry. Since last year, the awards have expanded the scope of nominations and increased the number of award categories from 12 to 17, showcasing the diversity and continuous development of this industry.

The awards ceremony was organized by the Busan International Film Festival (BIFF) and the Korean Broadcasters Association. The event took place as part of the Busan International Film Festival, running from October 4th to October 13th. The ceremony was hosted by actor Kim Kang Woo and Nancy, a member of the K-pop group Momoland. The event featured performances by the K-pop group Alice and singer-songwriter Lee Seung Yoon.

This year’s awards not only celebrated outstanding works but also recognized talented individuals and their special contributions to the entertainment and online streaming industry.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles